Disco legend Cerrone revisits a career of classic tracks on ‘Cerrone by Cerrone’

With tracks like Love in C Minor, Supernature, Give Me Love and Je Suis Music in his repertoire, Cerrone is one of disco‘s most celebrated producers.

Marking his 50th anniversary as an artist, the French producer has released a new album Cerrone by Cerrone, which revisits 17 of his classic tracks and cult favourites, reworked by a host of guest collaborators.

“When I started DJing, everyone was asking me to play the originals, which I can understand,” Cerrone said of the new album.

“But I wanted to evolve, try new things and not just play old tunes. So I gradually started to rework my songs as if I were writing them today, taking into account new instruments coming through technological advancement.”

Each track has been reworked, retaining the original disco DNA but adopting a more contemporary feel, with Cerrone working with Brendan Reilly, a vocalist who previously worked with Disclosure, on updating the vocal elements.

“I can change harmonies, baselines, rhythm, make some bits longer and shorten others,” Cerrone added.

The album also features a number of remixes, by the likes of Dimitri From Paris, Mercer and Joey Negro/Dave Lee.

Over the years, Cerrone has worked with the likes of Nile Rodgers, Toto, Laura Branigan, Jocelyn Brown, LaToya Jackson and Axelle Red, and inspired a number of acts who have sampled and interpolated his music, including Daft Punk, Modjo, Bob Sinclar, The Beastie Boys and Run DMC.

The new album, Cerrone by Cerrone, was released by Because Music and is available on CD, double vinyl and also via streaming platforms. You can download/stream it here.

Cerrone by Cerrone – Tracklisting

A Side

1 – Give Me Love
2 – My Desire
3 – Got to Have Lovin’
4 – Look for Love (The Reflex Revision)
5 – The Only One (Mercer Remix)

B Side

1 – Cerrone’s Paradise (Joey Negro Soulful Mix)
2 – Love in C Minor (Dimitri From Paris Remix)
3 – Je suis Music
4 – Standing in the Rain

C Side

1 – Call Me Tonight
2 – Took Me so Long
3 – The Impact
4 – Hooked on You

D Side

1 – You Are the One
2 – Striptease
3 – Supernature

About Post Author

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: