Chaos In The CBD announce forthcoming ‘fabric presents’ compilation

New Zealand duo Chaos In The CBD, aka siblings Ben and Louis Helliker-Hales, have announced details of a forthcoming ‘fabric presents’ compilation, set to land this coming March.

The pair, who have come off arguably the busiest year in their careers to date – they recently recorded their fifth Boiler Room – have sought to delve into their musical upbringing with the compilation, which features tracks recorded over an approximate 30-year timespan.

According to the duo, the forthcoming mix is “an ode to what we believe are the hidden gems of house music that have made a huge impact on us. We’ve adored so many of these tracks for years, some we’ve never been able to play out until now because we couldn’t source high quality digital versions or vinyl was super rare.

“It’s an honour to rejuvenate these records. To keep the flames alive is very important to us. We’ve loved the process of compiling this, and how much work fabric put into licensing these tracks makes it even more special.”

Rewind to 2007 –  the year in which Caspa & Rusko dropped their seminal dubstep mix, Fabriclive 37. It was a CD that was repeatedly listened to by the young Ben and Louis. In fact, it was arguably this mix – as well as the discovery that Fabric was a club in London – that led to them upping sticks and moving to the UK capital back in 2012.

This experience, as well as the many years of success the duo have seen to date, all influence the mix, while it also features new material – a single Higher Elevation, was released on 18 January.

“We always try to make music that is timeless and our aim here was no different,” the duo say of the new project. “The true litmus test was placing it alongside all these amazing tracks on the mix that have endured for so long. We hope we have achieved that.

fabric presents Chaos In The CBD is released 31 March on fabric Records. More information can be found here.


1 – Paradise Presents Afrikali – Out Of The Jungle (Dancing Flute Mix) [Easy Street Records]
2 – Z-Formation – Secret Departure [Hi-Bias Records]
3 – Turntable Terror Trax – Fingers [Low Frequency Recordings]
4 – Hanna – You & Me [Room Records]
5 – Ronin – Romantic Yearnings [Night Lights]
6 – Chris Brann – Journey To The Centre [Peacefrog Records]
7 – Miquifaye ft. Javairia Ali – Never Let You Go (Cosmic Vision Vocal Pass) [Metaphor]
8 – Raymond Castoldi – The Jungle [X-Ray Records]
9 – Psychedelic Research Lab – Tarenah (Chill Mix) – 2021 Remaster [Gyroscopic Recordings]
10 – Deep Sided – Fly You [Chicago Deep]
11 – Joshua – Worry No More [Prescription]
12 – The Element – Oh You Got Me (The Deeper Than Deep Mix) [Nervous Records]
13 – Byron Burke presents Komputer Kidz – String Section [Nettwerk Productions]
14 Chaos In The CBD – Higher Elevation [fabric Records]
15 – Dana Kelley a.k.a Dr. Pompeii – Sassparilla Tea (Deep Dub Mix) [Fourth Floor Records]
16 – Brothers Of The Underground – Gotta Love [MixxRecords]
17 – The Logic Box – Seven [Adult Only Records]
18 – JUZU A.K.A. MOOCHY – Lugar Precioso (The Drums De Fuego Version) [Sacred Rhythm Music & Cosmic Arts]
19 – Blak Beat Niks – I’ll Be There (Kerri Chandler’s Brazilian Vibe) [Large Records]
20 – Morada – Night On Earth (Alex Neri Dub Mix) [DWBoys]
21 – Box Clever – I’ll Eat You (If You Were A Box) [Conceive Records]
22 – Sound Clash Republic – Raunchy After Dark [Junk Rock Records]
23 – J.D. Hall – Into You (Johnathan Morning Mix) [Sunfire Records]

About Post Author

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: