Theo Parrish set to release DJ-Kicks compilation later this month

House legend Theo Parrish has been named as the latest custodian of the DJ-Kicks mix series, with DJ-Kicks: Detroit Forward set to land later this month on !K7.

Featuring artists such as Meftah, KESSWA, De’Sean Jones & Ideeyah, Raj Mahal, Howard Thomas, Detroit Forward is entirely comprised of brand new material, making it the first ever all exclusive entry to the esteemed series.

Commenting on the compilation, Parrish said, Detroit creates. But rarely imitates. Why? We hear and see many from other places do that with what we originate. No need to follow. Get it straight.

“In the Great Lakes there are always more under the surface than those that appear to penetrate the top layer of attention and recognition. What about them that defy tradition? Those that side step the inaccurate definitions often given from outside positions? This is that evidence. Enjoy.”

The album will be released in 2CD mix, digital album and 3LP vinyl editions, and lands on 28 October. The CD track listing can be found below. More information can be found here.


01: De’Sean Jones & Ideeyah – Pressure
02: Donald Lee Roland II – Simba’s Theme
03: Meftah – When The Sun Falls
04: Theo Parrish & Duminie DePorres – The Real Deal
05: Specter – The Upper Room
06: Deon Jamar – North End Funk
07: Ian Fink – Moonlite (Duality/Detroit Live Version)


01: John C & Meftah – Full
02: mBtheLight – aGAIN (T’s Edit)
03: De’Sean Jones – Psalm 23
04: Raybone Jones – Green Funk
05: Jon Dixon – Wind Drifts (Instrumental)
06: Whodat & Sophiyah.e – Don’t Know
07: KESSWA – Chasing Delerium feat. Nova Zai
08: Raj Mahal – Hudsons
09: De’Sean Jones – Flash Spain
10: Jason Hogans – Surrounded By Trees
11: Howard Thomas – Experiment 10
12: Sterling Toles – Janis

About Post Author

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: