Sven Väth set to launch first solo album in close to 20 years

Techno legend Sven Väth has announced details about his first solo long player in close to 20 years, Catharsis, on Cocoon Recordings.

Produced alongside Gregor Tresher, the album will be launched on 25 February 2022, and has been described as a ‘musical autobiography’ tracking Väth’s career in techno. It’s also the 50th album on the Cocoon label.

The album has been preceded by the singles Feiern and Mystic Voices, the latter of which was launched earlier this month.

2021 marks Väth’s 40th year making electronic music – first as part of synth pop collective OFF in the 1980s, exploring new territories in trance and techno in the 90s and 2000s, and as the helmsman for the legendary Cocoon label and party series for the past two decades.

“My imagination for this record was fueled by the many cultural experiences and encounters I have had in my life,” Väth said of the new album. “They gave me the strength to find a way, the way to myself.”

Featuring 13 tracks, the album was also inspired by Väth’s interest in the physical and spiritual experiences that people share on the dancefloor.

“They are realms into which we immerse ourselves to experience our own mysticism and ecstasy,” he added. “Dancing is a conversation between body and soul and it spiritually connects us with each other.” Of course, because of the pandemic, that is a feeling that we all missed out on for so long. No dancing, no paradise!”

Sven Väth – Catharsis is set to land in February 2022.

1 – What I Used to Play
2 – The Worm
3 – The Inner Voice
4 – Catharsis
5 – Feiern
6 – Mystic Voices
7 – Being In Love
8 – Butoh
9 – Nyx
10 – The Cranes of Gangtey Valley
11 – We Are
12 – Silvi’s Dream
13 – Panta Rhei

About Post Author

%d bloggers like this: