‘Dreams of Electric Bleep’ compilation showcases the Irish electro scene at the turn of the Millennium

A new compilation, Dreams of Electric Bleep, will showcase the nascent electro scene that emerged in Ireland at the turn of the Millennium (1999 to 2005), a period that saw legendary nights such as Phunk City at The Funnel, Model One at Switch and midweek club Electric City.

Due to be released on Earwiggle on 6 October (via Bandcamp) and 13 October (worldwide), the 2×12″/digital compilation features artists such as Phil Kieran, Chymera, John Braine, Magnetize, Metroneem, Americhord and Takeover Sound.

It also features Decal‘s seminal track Free the Flange, which helped set the tone for Irish electronica at the tail end of the 90s.

According to a press release, Dreams of Electric Bleep ‘revisits a crucial time of development (1999-2005), when production standards on the island of Ireland rose in perfect synchronicity with the collapse of the music industry as we knew it.

‘While Detroit, The Hague and London heavily influenced the sounds heard in the clubs, clubs in pubs, warehouses and great outdoors of Ireland – it was producers from Belfast, Cork, Donegal, Dublin, Limerick and Mayo who created the first significant chunk of high-quality Irish electro, demonstrated here over a range of styles.’

The double 12″ is released on picture-sleeved clear green vinyl, designed by Jonny Costello (Adult Art Club) and with liner notes by Stephen Rennicks (Drexciya Research Lab). Earwiggle’s Bandcamp page can be found here.

Its release is being accompanied by an event taking place on Culture Night (22 September) at The Racket Space, The Bernard Shaw, featuring Phil Kieran, Decal, Magnetize, John Braine and Eliza – tickets for which can be found here.

In addition, a separate launch party will take place on 30 September at Deep Sea Dweller at Áras na nGael, Galway, the lineup for which is still to be released.

Artist: Various Artists
Title: Dreams of Electric Bleep
Catalogue Number: EAR034
Format: 2×12” Vinyl / Digital
Genre: Electro
Release Date: 06/10/23 (Bandcamp), 13/10/23 (Worldwide)

A1. Decal – Free The Flange (Edit)
A2. Magnetize – Hard Copy
B2. Metroneem – Skip Code
B1. Americhord – Frqnz
C1. Phil Kieran – RIP
C2. Takeover Sound – Together In The Dark
D1. Chymera – Icicle (2023 Version)
D2. John Braine – A Shift Through The Shadows

About Post Author

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: