Dennis Cruz announces debut album, ‘Roots’, on Crosstown Rebels

House producer Dennis Cruz has announced details about his forthcoming debut album, Roots, which is set to be released on 29 October on Crosstown Rebels.

The ten-track LP features vocal contributions from Josh Butler, P. Rivas, Leo Wood and the late Lee Scratch Perry among others, and incorporates a broad range of musical styles, in keeping with Cruz’ career to date. You can pre-order the album here.

“I wanted to work on a broader project, the cornerstone of my artist career, and this is what Roots is,” Cruz explained. “The album is a convergence of influences taken from music that I’ve been listening to all my life, from funk, salsa, and flamenco to house and disco. I am so happy this project could finally come to life.

“I want to thank the several friends and artists that worked on it with me; Damian Lazarus for believing in it from the beginning and helping it reach the world on Crosstown Rebels.”

A single from the album, What U Doing, was released last Friday; following on from the release of another single, Los Tamales, last July, and Ahora Todo Va in April.

A few weeks ago, 909originals caught up with the MÜSE label co-founder, in which he spoke about his excitement about getting back on the road and playing in front of a live audience.

“It’s amazing, the energy of the crowd now we party like it will be the last one,”he told us. “We all missed those feelings of dancing together now it can finally happen, I can’t wait to play all over and feel it again.”

Dennis Cruz: Roots – Tracklisting

A1 Dennis Cruz feat. P. Rivas – La Ratonera
A2 Dennis Cruz – Los Tamales
A3 Dennis Cruz & Ian Ludvig – Good Old Days
B1 Dennis Cruz – Ecua
B2 Dennis Cruz ft. Leo Wood – What U Doing
B3 Dennis Cruz – Bend
C1 Dennis Cruz ft. Lee Scratch Perry – Go Down
C2 Dennis Cruz & Josh Butler – Ahora Todo Va (Dub)
D1 Dennis Cruz – Te Quiero Cantar
D2 Dennis Cruz & Iuliano Mambo – Back Again

About Post Author

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: