Sasha Announces Forthcoming Compilation, LUZoSCURA

Sasha has announced details of a new compilation, LUZoSCURA, which is due for release on !K7 at the start of May, and will feature a blend of ambient, breaks, techno and electronica.

The compilation, which will be released on 7 May, has been developed for ‘at-home’ listening – in keeping with the lockdown situation we all find ourselves in – and features tracks by MJ Cole, lau.ra, The Micronaut, Tryphème, Rival Consoles and Alex Banks, as well as Sasha himself. The album can be pre-ordered here.

LUZoSCURA actually began life on Spotify, as a stash of music sent to Sasha which didn’t meet the pace of his club sets, nor suit his LNOE label.

“The playlist thrived during lockdown,” Sasha explains. “For the first time in over 20 years I had no reference point for banging club music, so I gravitated towards the LUZoSCURA playlist. I threw more energy into curating it because the sound felt right for that time, and I quickly realised I wanted to make some of my own music with this theme.”

As this playlist grew, so the tracks therein began to be incorporated into a livestream, which subsequently led to the planning for the LUZoSCURA compilation.

“The compilation process was an amazing experience in connecting with newer, budding artists I wouldn’t normally receive music from,” he adds. “From this new project, I want people to be ready for something beyond the 4×4 kick drum, something which goes in different directions.

“Mixing it was quite different to the standard progression that I’m used to when I DJ because the beauty of the LUZoSCURA sound is that it jumps between breakbeat to melodic to ambient, yet it still flows.”

The compilation also features two previously-unheard Sasha compositions, HNDI and Corner Shop, the latter of which opens the compilation. HNDI is available to purchase now via Sasha’s Bandcamp page.

“During the first lockdown my basement studio became quite an escape for me,” he says. “I had many late night intense creative writing sessions, sometimes putting 10 ideas down in one night. HNDI and Corner Shop both came from a night like that.”

Separately, commencing Friday 19th March, Sasha has partnered with the Ibiza-based music and art platform OpenLab, for a series of exclusive LUZoSCURA radio shows:

LUZoSCURA Tracklist

1 – Sasha – Corner Shop
2 – DJ P – Power
3 – BAILE – Gone
4 – Trypheme – Music For An Imaginary Fashion Society
5 – Just Her & Nolan. Keisha Mair – Breathe You
6 – Sasha & Franky Wah – I’ll Never Change
7- Reserve Parachute – Dark Sky
8 – MJ Cole – Maestro
9 – lau.ra – I’ll Wait
10 – QRTR – Forest Sprint
11 – Enui – Us
12 – The Micronaut – Koelsa
13 – Jody Barr feat. Felicia Douglass – Accidental Lovers
14 – BOA – Essence
15 – Polymod – Cycles
16 – Rival Consoles – Not Really
17 – Cortese – Circles
18 – Nocow – Atent
19 – Sasha – HNDI
20 – Alex Banks – Resurgence
21 – Felsmann + Tiley – Yin/Yang

About Post Author

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: