Junkie XL returns with new ‘A Fluff Scam’ EP

Producer Tom Holkenborg has revived his Junkie XL alias for the first time in nine years with the release of A Fluff Scam, a new EP on Sasha’s Last Night On Earth label.

Released on 10 December, the five-track EP has been preceded by the release of the title track, A Fluff Scam. More

In the close to a decade since the last Junkie XL release, Holkenborg has plied his trade in Hollywood, working on compositions for Zack Snyder’s Justice League, Mad Max: Fury Road, Deadpool and Alita: Battle Angel, among others.

It was his work on Netflix’s White Lines, however, that inspired him to revisit his dance music past, writing a series of tracks which he sent to Sasha for feedback – leading to the current EP, which can be pre-ordered here.

“These tracks were something fun and personal for me, a chance to stretch my dancefloor muscles again, after recalling so many of my Ibiza memories during White Lines,” said Holkenborg. “They are quite different from the classic Junkie XL sound, and I never had any intention of releasing them, but when Sasha asked me too, I couldn’t say no.”

Holkenborg has a long association with Sasha from early in his Junkie XL career, helping to produce the album Airdrawndagger, while the track Future In Computer Hell Part II was featured in The Man Like’s seminal Global Underground Ibiza album.

Between 1995 and 2014, Junkie XL released six albums, toured major dance festivals and clubs, and collaborated with Gary Numan, Chuck D, Dave Gahan, Robert Smith, Madonna and many more – not to mention topping the charts with his remix of Elvis Presley’s A Little Less Conversation.

Junkie XL – A Fluff Scam tracklisting

1 – Graziano
2 – You Don’t Know Me
3 – No That Ain’t Right
4 – A Fluff Scam
5 – Drive Forward

About Post Author

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: