Justin Robertson set to release debut novel, The Tangle


We’re big fans of Justin Robertson here at 909originals HQ – whether it be for his DJing at venues like Bugged Out!, musical output with Lionrock, The Deadstock 33s and under his own name, remixes for the likes of Bjork, New Order, Noel Gallagher and Erasure, or just for being a bloody nice bloke.

Having also made his name in the art world in recent years, now Roberson is turning his attention to the written word, with the forthcoming release of his debut novel, The Tangle, on White Rabbit Books in November.

Described as an ‘eco-horror’ and ‘a trans-dimensional trip into the mysterious knot of nature’, the book tells a dystopian tale of what occurs when unknowable frontiers are breached and humanity finds itself, once again, lost in the woods.

Fans of Saki, Ballard, M R James, Ursula Le Guin, Brian Catling and Thomas Ligotti should take note.

As Robertson told 909originals a couple of years back (read part 1 and part 2 here), “Life has to be lived forwards, it’s no good looking back and saying I could have done this or that. It’s a question of we are where we are.” With his foray into literature, Robertson is again establishing a new frontier in what has been a wide-ranging career to date.

The Tangle by Justin Robertson will be published on 4 November on White Rabbit Books, and will also be available as an e-book and audio download.

White Rabbit is also planning an exclusive event at Exposure Gallery and The Social in London, on 1 November, to mark the launch of the book, see below for more details.


[Main picture by Lawrence Watson]

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: